Mr. BJ Schuller, Sibley-Ocheyedan High School, in Sibley, has been selected by the National Federation of State High School Associations to receive the National Federation State Speech, Debate, and Theatre Award for the
nation. There are only 12 recipients of the State award in the United States this year. Mr. Schuller was selected as a State recipient from recommendations made this fall from the Iowa High School Speech Association.

Mr. Schuller has been involved with IHSSA activities for over 25 years. He has managed district LG and IE contests and state IE contests and has been involved with many aspects of the IHSSA such as being a State Officer, Judge Certification committee member, Coaches Convention Committee, AD HOV committees and presenter at the IHSSA convention several times. He has also hosted Judge Certification at Sibley-Ocheyedan High School and
continues to be a leader in the NW District of the Iowa High School Speech Association.

Mr. Schuller has been an exceptional leader in the Sibley-Ocheyedan school system and works as a mentor to young teachers in his role as supervising teacher. He is a positive leader, one who is always willing to take the time to work with any coach and give a helping hand. He has made a huge difference in the entire educational program of Sibley-Ocheyedan schools.

The National Federation Interscholastic Speech, Theatre and Debate Educator Award was first given in 1988 when seven individuals received sectional awards. Since that time, 216 sectional and 347 state awards have been presented. Nominations for this award are solicited from all fifty states. Awards for state and section are not automatically given.

The IHSSA has been very fortunate to have had a state or sectional recipient for this award every year since its inception. Past inductees have been:
1989 John Burke, Anita 2004 Kennon Balster, Clarinda
1990 Helen Slattum, Lake Mills 2005 Mary Campbell, CR Prairie
1991 Frances Hedeman, Dubuque 2006 Brad Nesbitt, Alta
1992 John Gibson, Council Bluffs 2007 Nancy Libke,Sumner-Fredericksburg
1993 Beverly Weseman, Sioux City 2008 Marty Bangston, Shenandoah
1994 Jay Shelp, Sheldon 2009 David Wendt, Keokuk
1995 William Hultman, Keota 2010 Terry Coleman, Fort Dodge
1996 Karen Tilton, Maquoketa 2011 Scott Bertelsen, Forest City
1997 Jerry Laffey, Onawa 2012 Cary Shapiro, Ankeny
1998 Robert Galligan, Carroll 2013 Lynn Jacobsen, Danville
1999 Susan Cantine, Decorah 2014 Ann Williamsen, Okoboji
2000 Denis Hildreth, Des Moines 2015 Aaron Dean, Dubuque Senior
2001 Elizabeth Hansen, Grinnell 2016 Timothy Sheaff, Dowling Catholic
2002 Larry Untiet, Spencer 2018 William Myatt, Pleasant Valley
2003 Dan Putz, Independence

Special congratulations to BJ for being selected for the award this year. It is with a great deal of pleasure that the IHSSA welcomes BJ Schuller into this prestigious group.

For more information on this award click here.